1	2022 OA-028
2 3 4 5 6	AMENDING CHAPTER 15 OF THE DANE COUNTY CODE OF ORDINANCES, REGARDING THE NAME AND MEMBERSHIP OF THE CRIMINAL JUSTICE COUNCIL
7 8	The County Board of Supervisors of the County of Dane does ordain as follows:
9 10 11	ARTICLE 1. Unless otherwise expressly stated herein, all references to section and chapter numbers are to those of the Dane County Code of Ordinances.
12 13	ARTICLE 2. Section 15.46(1) is amended to read as follows:
14	15.46 CRIMINAL COMMUNITY JUSTICE COUNCIL.
15	(1) Composition.
16	(a) The Criminal Community Justice Council shall consist of six eleven voting
17	members:
18	1. the county executive;
19	2. the county board chair;
20	3. the sheriff;
21	4. the district attorney;
22	5. the presiding judge of the circuit court;
23	<b>6.</b> the clerk of courts;
24 25	<u>7.</u> three persons from diverse backgrounds who have lived experiences of
25	incarceration or have been directly impacted by the criminal justice system, and
26	are selected from a list of recommendations submitted by relevant community
27	organizations including but not limited to Nehemiah, JustDane, MOSES, EXPO,
28	FREE, Focused Interpretation, and Centro Hispano to the Public Protection and
29	Judiciary Committee and Health and Human Needs Committee at a joint meeting:
30	8. two persons with behavioral health expertise selected from a list of
31	recommendations submitted by relevant community organizations including but
32	not limited to Recovery Coalition, NAMI, Homeless Services Consortium and
33	Chrysalis to the Public Protection and Judiciary Committee and Health and Human
34	Needs Committee at a joint meeting.
35	(1) The state of t
36	(b) There shall be six The following are non-voting members of the Criminal
37	Community Justice Council:
88	1. a representative of the state public defender's office;
39	2. the City of Madison chief of police;
10 11	a police chief from a jurisdiction outside the City of Madison appointed by
11 12	<ul><li>the Dane County Police Chief's Association;</li><li>a representative of the Wisconsin Department of Corrections;</li></ul>
+2 13	<ul> <li>4. a representative of the Wisconsin Department of Corrections;</li> <li>5. a representative of Dane County municipal judges;</li> </ul>
+5 14	6. a representative of the Public Protection and Judiciary Committee,
<del>14</del> 15	appointed by the committee chair.
ر ٦	appointed by the committee origin.

- **(c)** Non-voting members will not be counted for purposes of establishing a 47 quorum.
  - d) The Community Justice Council shall permit any member of the county board of supervisors to take part in its deliberations and to speak on any agenda item. This includes closed sessions except if the individual supervisor's exclusion is necessary for the purpose of the closed session. Nevertheless, county board of supervisors who are not members of the Community Justice Council shall not vote, shall not be counted in determining whether or not there is a quorum, and may not make or second any motion.

[EXPLANATION: This amendment renames the Criminal Justice Council and expands its membership.]