

### **Dane County**

# Minutes - Final Unless Amended by Committee

### **County Board**

Consider:

Who benefits? Who is burdened?
Who does not have a voice at the table?
How can policymakers mitigate unintended consequences?

Tuesday, April 19, 2022

7:00 PM \*\*ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING\*\* Virtual Zoom Meeting: See top of agenda for instructions on how to join the webinar or call in by phone.

Present: 37 - ANDRAE, BARE, BOLLIG, CASTILLO, CHAWLA, COLLINS, DOOLAN, DOWNING, DOYLE, EICHER, ENGELBERGER, ERICKSON, GLAZER, GRAY, HATCHER, HUELSEMANN, HYNES, JOERS, KIEFER, KIGEYA, McCARVILLE, MCGINNITY, MILES, PALM, PELLEBON, RIPP, RATCLIFF, RITT, ROSE, SCHAUER, SMITH, VELDRAN, WEGLEITNER, WEIGAND, WRIGHT, XISTRIS-SONGPANYA and YANG

- 1. Prayer/Inspirational Message Supervisor Hatcher (Supervisor Joers next)
  - Present: 37 ANDRAE, BARE, BOLLIG, CASTILLO, CHAWLA, COLLINS, DOOLAN, DOWNING, DOYLE, EICHER, ENGELBERGER, ERICKSON, GLAZER, GRAY, HATCHER, HUELSEMANN, HYNES, JOERS, KIEFER, KIGEYA, McCARVILLE, MCGINNITY, MILES, PALM, PELLEBON, RIPP, RATCLIFF, RITT, ROSE, SCHAUER, SMITH, VELDRAN, WEGLEITNER, WEIGAND, WRIGHT, XISTRIS-SONGPANYA and YANG
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance Supervisor Hatcher

#### **B. SPECIAL MATTERS AND ANNOUNCEMENTS**

- 1. Administering the Oath of Office Justice Valerie Bailey-Rihn
- 2. Organization of the 2022-2024 Dane County Board of Supervisors
- 2a. Election of Board Chair 2 years

Supervisor EICHER requested Supervisor VELDRAN to take over the Chair to preside over vote for Chair. There was no objection. Supervisor VELDRAN than asked for nominations for Chair. Supervisor RITT nominated Supervisor EICHER to be County Board Chair. Supervisor Pellebon then nominated Supervisor Miles. There were no more nominations. The vote was 20-17 for Supervisor MILES. Supervisor MILES then took over the Chair.

2b. Election of First Vice-Chair - 2 years

Supervisor MILES asked for nominations for Vice Chair. Supervisor JOERS nominated Supervisor SCHAUER to be Vice Chair. Supervisor Bare then nominated Supervisor DOYLE. There were no more nominations. The vote was 19-18 for Supervisor SCHAUER.

2c. Election of Second Vice-Chair - 2 years

Supervisor MILES asked for nominations for Second Vice Chair. Supervisor WRIGHT nominated Supervisor KIGEYA to be Second Vice Chair. There were no more nominations. Supervisor MILES than called for a unanimous ballot for Supervisor KIGEYA. There were no objections and Supervisor KIGEYA was elected Second Vice Chair.

2d. Election of Sergeants-At-Arms - 2 years

Supervisor MILES asked for nominations for Sergeants-At-Arms. Supervisor HUESELMANN nominated Supervisor CHAWLA to be Sergeant-At-Arms. Supervisor SCHAUER then nominated Supervisor MCCARVILLE as Sergeant-At-Arms. There were no more nominations. Supervisor MILES then requested a unanimous ballot be cast for both Supervisors CHAWLA and MCCARVILLE. There was no objection and they were both elected Sergeant-At-Arms.

**2e.** 2022 OA-001 AMENDING CHAPTER 7 OF THE DANE COUNTY CODE OF ORDINANCES. AMENDING BOARD RULES

Sponsors: EICHER

Attachments: 2022 OA-001

Co board rules 2022 OA1 amendment 1--PROPOSED WEGLEITNER
Co board rules 2022 OA1 amendment 2--PROPOSED WEGLEITNER
Co board rules 2022 OA1 amendment 3--PROPOSED RATCLIFF

A motion was made by WEGLEITNER, second by CHAWLA TO move Amendment 1. A motion was made by SMITH, seconded by WEGLEITNER, that the Amendment 1 be amended to insert after "at" on line 13 to read "At the first meeting following Personnel and Finance Committee action public testimony and registrations be taken". The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 22 - ANDRAE, BARE, CASTILLO, CHAWLA, DOOLAN, DOYLE, GLAZER, GRAY, HUELSEMANN, KIGEYA, MCGINNITY, MILES, PALM, PELLEBON, RATCLIFF, RITT, ROSE, SMITH, WEGLEITNER, WEIGAND, WRIGHT and YANG

Noes: 14 - BOLLIG, COLLINS, DOWNING, EICHER, ENGELBERGER, HATCHER, HYNES, JOERS, KIEFER, McCARVILLE, RIPP, SCHAUER, VELDRAN and XISTRIS-SONGPANYA

Absent: 1 - ERICKSON

A motion was made by BARE, seconded by CHAWLA, that the Amendment 1 be amended to at line 14 strike "At such meetings, no public testimony or registrations shall be taken". The motion carried by a voice vote.

A motion made by WEGLEITNER, seconded by CHAWLA, that Amendment 1 as be adopted as amended. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Ayes: 22 ANDRAE, BARE, CASTILLO, CHAWLA, DOOLAN, DOYLE, GLAZER, GRAY, HUELSEMANN, KIGEYA, MILES, PALM, PELLEBON, RATCLIFF, RITT, ROSE, SMITH, VELDRAN, WEGLEITNER, WEIGAND, WRIGHT and YANG
- Noes: 14 BOLLIG, COLLINS, DOWNING, EICHER, ENGELBERGER, HATCHER, HYNES, JOERS, KIEFER, McCARVILLE, MCGINNITY, RIPP, SCHAUER and XISTRIS-SONGPANYA

Absent: 1 - ERICKSON

A motion was made by WEGLEITNER, seconded by PELLEBON, to move Amendment 2. A motion was made by WEGLEITNER, seconded by PELLEBON, to amend Amendment 2 to delete the reference to the Pledge of Allegiance in section 7.61 (2) A.2 The motion failed by the following vote:

- **Ayes:** 9 DOYLE, GLAZER, HUELSEMANN, KIGEYA, PALM, PELLEBON, RITT, WEGLEITNER and WRIGHT
- Noes: 28 ANDRAE, BARE, BOLLIG, CASTILLO, CHAWLA, COLLINS, DOOLAN, DOWNING, EICHER, ENGELBERGER, ERICKSON, GRAY, HATCHER, HYNES, JOERS, KIEFER, McCARVILLE, MCGINNITY, MILES, RIPP, RATCLIFF, ROSE, SCHAUER, SMITH, VELDRAN, WEIGAND, XISTRIS-SONGPANYA and YANG

The motion to adopt Amendment 2 was then before the Board. The motion failed by the following vote:

- Ayes: 8 DOYLE, GLAZER, HUELSEMANN, KIGEYA, PELLEBON, RITT, WEGLEITNER and WRIGHT
- Noes: 29 ANDRAE, BARE, BOLLIG, CASTILLO, CHAWLA, COLLINS, DOOLAN, DOWNING, EICHER, ENGELBERGER, ERICKSON, GRAY, HATCHER, HYNES, JOERS, KIEFER, McCARVILLE, MCGINNITY, MILES, PALM, RIPP, RATCLIFF, ROSE, SCHAUER, SMITH, VELDRAN, WEIGAND, XISTRIS-SONGPANYA and YANG

A motion was made by KIEFER, seconded by WEIGAND, that the Ordinance be amended to remove the strikeout of the word "prayer" . The motion failed by the following vote:

- Ayes: 13 BOLLIG, DOOLAN, DOWNING, ENGELBERGER, ERICKSON, GRAY, HATCHER, KIEFER, McCARVILLE, RIPP, SCHAUER, WEIGAND and YANG
- Noes: 24 ANDRAE, BARE, CASTILLO, CHAWLA, COLLINS, DOYLE, EICHER, GLAZER, HUELSEMANN, HYNES, JOERS, KIGEYA, MCGINNITY, MILES, PALM, PELLEBON, RATCLIFF, RITT, ROSE, SMITH, VELDRAN, WEGLEITNER, WRIGHT and XISTRIS-SONGPANYA

A motion was made by RATCLIFF, seconded by WEGLEITNER, that Amendment 3 be adopted. The motion carried by a voice vote.

## Minutes - Final Unless Amended by Committee

A motion was made by WEGLEITNER, seconded by CHAWLA, that the Ordinance be amended to delete the word "prayer" in section 7.612. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Ayes: 21 ANDRAE, BARE, CASTILLO, CHAWLA, COLLINS, DOYLE, EICHER, GLAZER, HUELSEMANN, HYNES, JOERS, KIGEYA, MCGINNITY, MILES, PALM, PELLEBON, RITT, SMITH, VELDRAN, WEGLEITNER and WRIGHT
- Noes: 16 BOLLIG, DOOLAN, DOWNING, ENGELBERGER, ERICKSON, GRAY, HATCHER, KIEFER, McCARVILLE, RIPP, RATCLIFF, ROSE, SCHAUER, WEIGAND. XISTRIS-SONGPANYA and YANG

A motion was made that the Ordinance be adopted Sub. 1 as amended. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Ayes: 32 ANDRAE, BARE, CASTILLO, CHAWLA, COLLINS, DOOLAN, DOYLE, EICHER, ENGELBERGER, ERICKSON, GLAZER, GRAY, HATCHER, HUELSEMANN, HYNES, JOERS, KIGEYA, McCARVILLE, MCGINNITY, MILES, PALM, PELLEBON, RATCLIFF, RITT, ROSE, SCHAUER, SMITH, VELDRAN, WEGLEITNER, WRIGHT, XISTRIS-SONGPANYA and YANG
- Noes: 5 BOLLIG, DOWNING, KIEFER, RIPP and WEIGAND
- 2f. Motion Designating Official Newspaper for the 2022-2024 Board Years

A motion was made by EICHER, seconded by SCHAUER, that the Wisconsin State Journal be designated as the Official Newspaper for the 2022-2024 Board Years. The motion carried unanimously.

## C. SUCH OTHER BUSINESS AS THE COUNTY BOARD IS AUTHORIZED TO CONDUCT BY LAW

#### D. ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by SCHAUER, seconded by ERICKSON, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried unanimously at 10:12 pm.