2022 RES-006

RESOLUTION HONORING THE 2021 INDIVIDUAL SAFETY AWARD RECIPIENT

WHEREAS, Dane County management and staff provide services from A to Z (airport to zoo) and the safety and well-being of Dane County employees is essential to delivering these services; and

WHEREAS, workplace injuries and illnesses not only affect Dane County employees but their family and friends and the broader community as a whole; and

WHEREAS, employee involvement in safety programs can significantly reduce the probability of on-the-job injuries and illnesses; and

WHEREAS, Dane County's Safety and Working Conditions Study Committee received various nominations across several Departments for Dane County's 2021 Safety Award, a summary of which follows:

- Julie Elsinger, Zoo Keeper at the Henry Vilas Zoo, was nominated for her commitment to promoting safe
 working conditions while caring for the animals; she trained staff on how to use equipment safely and she
 trained certain animals to back away from the gate before staff enter. Julie was also a strong advocate for
 following the guidance that reduced co-workers exposure to COVID-19, such as wearing masks and
 following social-distancing rules;
- Justin Fay, Alan Dresen, Art Cordova and Darin Jelle from Facilities Management were nominated for going above and beyond expectations to keep Dane County's buildings clean and safe for staff and visitors;
- Kari Sievert, the Program Coordinator for Public Health Madison Dane County's (PHMDC) Well Woman Program, who works as a staff liaison supporting PHMDC staff's mental health and wellness was also nominated;
- Jenna Shelley, Fleet & Asset Coordinator, and Deputy Kurt Lochner from the Dane County Sheriff's Office (DCSO) were also nominated. Jenna was nominated for making sure staff are safe on the road, and Kurt was nominated for his work on the Jail Consolidation Project Transition Team and for re-writing countless safety policies;
- The Economic Assistance and Work Services (EAWS) division in the Department of Human Services, and, in particular, Liza Ingrilli, Economic Support Supervisor, for keeping Job Center staff and visitors safe were nominated.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the County Board of Supervisors recognize 20 year Henry Vilas Zoo employee, Julie Elsinger, as the recipient of the 2021 Safety Award.

	Patrick Miles, Chair Dane County Board of Supervisor
Signed and sealed before me this	
day of, 2022. Scott McDonell, Dane County Clerk	