

Dane County

Minutes - Final Unless Amended by Committee

Public Protection & Judiciary Committee

Consider:

Who benefits? Who is burdened?
Who does not have a voice at the table?
How can policymakers mitigate unintended consequences?

Thursday, August 11, 2022

5:30 PM

Virtual Zoom Meeting: See top of agenda for instructions on how to join the webinar or call in by phone.

Joint meeting of Public Protection & Judiciary and Public Works & Transportation Committees

Interpreters must be requested in advance; please see the bottom of the agenda for more information.

Los intérpretes deben solicitarse con anticipación; consulte el final de la agenda para obtener más información.

Yuav tsuam tau thov txog cov neeg txhais lus hau ntej; thov saib hauv qab kawg ntawm qhov txheej txheem rau cov ntaub ntawv ntxiv.

The August 11, 2022 joint meeting of Public Protection & Judiciary Committee and Public Works & Transportation meeting is being held virtually. The public can access the meeting with the Zoom application or by telephone.

To join the meeting in Zoom, click the following link (after you fill out the form, the meeting link and access information will be emailed to you):

https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_P-Z9X8w0SD2pnzStxp4r0w

The link will be active until the end of the meeting.

To join the meeting by phone, dial in using one of the following three phone numbers:

1-833-548-0276

1-833-548-0282

1-888-788-0099

When prompted, enter the following Webinar ID: 925 2587 7592

If you want to submit a written comment for this meeting, or send handouts for the committee members, please send them to: stavn@countyofdane.com

PROCESS TO PROVIDE PUBLIC COMMENT: ANY MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC WISHING TO REGISTER TO SPEAK ON/SUPPORT/OPPOSE AN AGENDA ITEM MUST REGISTER USING THE LINK ABOVE (even if you plan to attend using your phone).

In order to testify (provide public comment), you must be in attendance at the meeting via Zoom or phone. You will then either be un muted or promoted to a panelist and provided a time to speak to the body.

Registrations to provide public comment will be accepted until 30 minutes prior to the beginning of the meeting.

A. Call To Order

Present: 5 - RICHELLE ANDRAE, JEFF WEIGAND, ANALIESE EICHER, APRIL KIGEYA and

DANA PELLEBON

Excused: 2 - ANTHONY GRAY and RICK ROSE

B. Referrals (Resolutions & Ordinance Amendments)

(Gray arrives at 6:20 p.m.)

Present: 6 - RICHELLE ANDRAE, JEFF WEIGAND, ANALIESE EICHER, ANTHONY GRAY,

APRIL KIGEYA and DANA PELLEBON

Excused: 1 - RICK ROSE

1. **RES-136** REALIZING KEY GOALS OF THE DANE COUNTY JAIL PROJECT WITHIN THE CURRENTLY AUTHORIZED FUNDING

Attachments: 2022 RES-136

2022 RES-136 FISCAL NOTE

Members of the public that registered in support and wished to speak on 2022 RES-136 were: Frances Hoffman, Barbie Jackson, Eric Howland, Deanna Grahn, Paul Saeman, and Tom Kriegl.

Member of the public that registered in support and wished to speak on 2022 RES-136, but was not available at the time of being called into the meeting was: Tyson Vitale

Member of the public that registered in support and wished to speak on 2022 RES-136, but sent an email stating she did not wish to speak was: Jeanie Verschay

Members of the public that registered in support and did not wish to speak on 2022 RES-136 were: Kathryn Mulligan, Mary Anglim, Jaylin Stueber, Lisa Munro, Marsha Baldwridge, Colleen OHara, Karen Julesberg, Dan Grupe, Bryn Orum, Molly Grupe, Diane Padrutt, Pam Gates, Maggie Brickerman, Douglas Pahl, Kate Pahl, Jackie Matelski, Tara Von Dollen, Rymii Kaio, Sharon Lezberg, Ann Lacy, Patricia Watson, Laura Green, Saundra Brown, Joan Duerst, Liesl Hostetter, Diane Padrutt, Meredith Green, Amelia Speight, Margaret Leaf, Viktor Petterson, Mary Bridget Samson, Brian Johnson, Nancy Kosseff, Maggie Nowicki, Kavin Senapathy, Erin Lemley, Margaret Irwin, Kathleen Harker, Harry Richardson, Joan Kemble, Theresa Perlis, Allen Liegel, Bill Bright, Iva Schatz, Kathy Luker, Tracy Frank, and Jan Sternbach.

Members of the public that registered Neither Support or Oppose and wished to speak on 2022 RES-136 were: Supervisor Tim Kiefer, Jacob Rodgers and Erika Bach.

Members of the public that registered in opposition and wished to speak on 2022 RES-136 were: Dan Fitch, , and Ally Bates.

Members of the public that registered in opposition and wished to speak on 2022 RES-136, but were not available at the time of being called into the meeting were: Athnie McMillian-Comeaux and Mike Kohn DVM.

Members of the public that registered in opposition and did not wish to speak on 2022 RES-136 were: Philip Gasper, Beth Prochaska, Priscilla Bonbdhus, Ben Hudzinski, Shaa Thao, Chad Oistad, Rebecca Prochaska, Jason Disch, Janet Hays, Kara Schloemer, Rachel Olson, Brian Tuescher, and Todd Marcotte.

Pellebon presented. A motion was made by PELLEBON, seconded by KIGEYA, that the Resolution be recommended for approval. The motion failed by the following vote: 3-3

Ayes: 3 - Supervisor GRAY, Supervisor KIGEYA and Supervisor PELLEBON

Supervisor ANDRAE, Supervisor WEIGAND and Supervisor EICHER Noes:

Excused: 1 - Supervisor ROSE

A motion was made by EICHER, seconded by ANDRAE, that the Resolution be forwarded without recommendation. The motion failed by the following vote: 2-4 Ayes: 2 - Supervisor ANDRAE and Supervisor EICHER

Noes: 4 - Supervisor WEIGAND, Supervisor GRAY, Supervisor KIGEYA and Supervisor

PELLEBON

Excused: 1 - Supervisor ROSE

A motion was made by KIGEYA, seconded by EICHER, that the Motion for No Recommendation be reconsidered. The motion carried by a voice vote. 6-0

A motion was made by ANDRAE, seconded by PELLEBON, that the Resolution be forwarded without recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote: 5-1

Ayes: 5 - Supervisor ANDRAE, Supervisor EICHER, Supervisor GRAY, Supervisor KIGEYA

and Supervisor PELLEBON

Noes: 1 - Supervisor WEIGAND

Excused: 1 - Supervisor ROSE

C. Future Meeting Items and Dates

August 23, 2022

D Public Comment on Items not on the Agenda

Member of the public that registered Neither Support or Oppose and wished to speak on public comment on items not on the agenda was: Supervisor Tim Kiefer

Supervisor Keifer commented that the meeting should have been hybrid and allowed an option for in-person attendance.

E. Such Other Business as Allowed by Law

None

F. Adjourn

A motion was made by PELLEBON, seconded by KIGEYA, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by a voice vote. 6-0

The committee adjourned at 8:08 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Stephanie A. Stavn