

Dane County

Minutes - Final Unless Amended by Committee

Arts and Cultural Affairs Commission

| Wh | to benefits? Who is b | urdened? |
|------------------------------|------------------------------------------------|------------------------------------------------------|
| | loes not have a voice nakers mitigate unint | at the table? tended consequences? |
| Wednesday, November 17, 2021 | 5:15 PM | See top of agenda for virtual meeting log in details |

A. Call to Order

Call to order at 5:18 pm

Staff: Mark Fraire, Augusta Brulla

Present 7 - Supervisor YOGESH CHAWLA, AMNERIS CURET, MARY KLEHR, LUIS MONTOTO, STEVEN MORGAN, RODERICK RITCHERSON, and TRACY WILLIAMS-MACLIN

B. Consideration of Minutes

A motion was made by Supervisor Chawla to approve the 10-06-2021 minutes, seconded by Commissioner Klehr

The motion was carried by the following vote:

- Ayes: 7 CHAWLA, CURET, KLEHR, MONTOTO, MORGAN, RITCHERSON and WILLIAMS-MACLIN
- 2021[10.06.2021 DANE COUNTY ARTS AND CULTURAL AFFAIRSMIN-445MINUTES]

Attachments: 2021 MIN-445

C. Action Items

- Addition of 5th Member of Executive Committee

- The Executive Committee is officially a sub-committee of the full commission, approved by the county board of supervisors

- Official agendas, minutes, and meeting registration will be posted on Legistar

- Commission consists of Chair, Vice-Chair, and 3 additional members appointed by the Chair

- The Current executive committee includes Chair Ritcherson, Vice-Chair Morgan, Commissioner Klehr, and Commissioner Williams

- Chair Ritcherson has appointed Supervisor Chawla to serve as the 5th Executive Committee member

- Chair Ritcherson has also suggested that the 5th Executive Committee member shall be the current County Supervisor serving on the full commission and that the Supervisor shall serve as parliamentarian for the committee

A motion was made by Commissioner Curet to fill the 5th member of the Arts and Cultural Affairs Executive Committee with the current County Board Supervisor, and will serve as parliamentarian to the full commission, seconded by Vice-Chair Morgan

The motion was carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 7 - CHAWLA, CURET, KLEHR, MONTOTO, MORGAN, RITCHERSON and WILLIAMS-MACLIN

- Blockstein Funds Allocation

Supervisor Chawla recommends the following applicants to receive the remaining Blockstein Award monies, (\$3,295) distributed equally, totaling \$659.00 each:

- Music con Brio's 10th Annual Community Concert Series
- Little Picassos: a free art enrichment program for low-income children
- Whoopensocker's 2021-22 Performance Season at MYArts
- Solarpunk Futures
- Club Express

Director Fraire will distribute Blockstein funds in a timely manner

A motion was made by Supervisor Chawla to approve the allocation of the above funds, seconded by Vice-Chair Morgan

The motion was carried by the following vote:

- Ayes: 7 CHAWLA, CURET, KLEHR, MONTOTO, MORGAN, RITCHERSON and WILLIAMS-MACLIN
- New Commission Member

Starting January, 2022, Fran Puleo Moyer will begin serving on the Arts and Cultural Affairs Commission

D. Presentations

- Dane Arts 2022 Calendar and Poster

- Calendars and Posters are available now

- Visit danearts.com for sales locations, learn more about the artists, and to purchase online

- Dane Arts Behind Creative: Monica Cliff

Dane Arts plans hopes to produce 10 Behind Creative videos features in 2022, but a minimum of 4 will be produced

E. Reports to Committee

- Executive Committee/Chair Report

- The use of the word "workgroup" will be discontinued

- The replacement term "area of focus" will take the place of "work group" in the Commissioner Handbook, Portal, and any instances where "workgroup" appears

- Chair Ritcherson encourages commissioners to set "area of focus" goals in 2022 and share with Commission in January

- Commissioners should share headshots for website in the next month so it will be updated by Jan 2022

- Commission Member reports

-Grant Review Area of Focus, led by Vice-Chair Morgan, Commissioner Curet and Commissioner Klehr

- A collective goal is to have a new mathematical formula in place for the first 2022 grant cycle

-Handbook Updates, led by Commissioner Klehr

- Updates include Executive Committee, focus area revised wording, Commissioner Puleo-Moyer's bio and updates from Director Fraire

- The term "focus group" affords an element of fluidity among commissioners

-Community Outreach, led by Commissioner Montoto

- Suggests meeting with Midwest Family Broadcasting to collaborate on publicity for future Dane Arts projects

- -Fund Advisory
- Director Fraire will send DANG! grant report to Fund Advisory focus area members

- ED report

- See Director Fraire's notes sent via email

F. Future Meeting Items and Dates

Approve 2022 Arts and Cultural Affairs Commission Meeting Dates during the January 2022 meeting
2022 Cycle 1 grant application will open Dec 5, 2021

G. Public Comment on Items not on the Agenda

None

H. Such Other Business as Allowed by Law

None

I. Adjourn

Meeting adjourned at 6:07 pm

A motion was made by Commissioner Klehr to adjourn

Minutes respectfully submitted by Augusta Brulla pending Commissioner approval.