## 2014 OA-069

AMENDING CHAPTER 7 OF THE DANE COUNTY CODE OF ORDINANCES, REGARDING APPOINTMENT OF YOUTH MEMBERS TO COUNTY BOARD COMMITTEES

The County Board of Supervisors of the County of Dane does ordain as follows:

ARTICLE 1. Unless otherwise expressly stated herein, all references to section and chapter numbers are to those of the Dane County Code of Ordinances.

ARTICLE 2. Section 7.03(2) is amended to read as follows:

(2) The chairperson shall appoint each supervisor to only one standing committee of the board, other than the executive committee, and shall also appoint members to other committees or commissions as directed by the board. In accordance with s. 7.11(10), Tthe chairperson shall consider the recommendations of the UW Extension Committee in the appointment of two youth members to each standing committees.

ARTICLE 3. Section 7.11(10) is amended to read as follows:

- (10) Except for the executive committee, the chairperson, with consideration of the recommendations of the UW Extension Committee, shall appoint two from twelve to eighteen youth members and one alternate youth member to each standing committees for a one-year term from June to May.
- (a) Youth members must be Dane County residents in grades 9 12 and make application to serve through the Dane County Extension Department.
- **(b)** Youth members shall have a non-binding advisory vote on standing committees, and committee minutes should record their votes separately as advisory. Youth members shall be given the same opportunities for committee participation and involvement as elected county supervisors.
- **(c)** Committee closed sessions may not include youth members.
- (d) Youth members shall not be counted for purpose of quorum.
- (e) If one of the youth member positions becomes vacant during a term, the alternate member may be appointed by the board chair to fill the vacancy.

[EXPLANATION: This amendment provides for appointment of from 12 -18 youth members to the various standing committees rather than limiting membership to 2 members and 1 alternate on each standing committee.]