

Dane County

Minutes - Final Unless Amended by Committee

Specialized Transportation Commission

Thursday, May 18, 2017

5:00 PM North Eastside Senior Coalition, 1625 Northport Drive, Madison, WI 53704

North Eastside Coalition, 1625 Northport, Madison

A. Call To Order

Meeting was called to order by O'Loughlin at 5:07 p.m. Staff & Guests: J. Betzig, J. Krueger, P. Zander

Present 5 - MATT VELDRAN, DENNIS O'LOUGHLIN, CARL DUROCHER, PATRICK DOWNING, and MICHELE RITT

Absent 4 - JENNIFER HARDESTY, ROBIN SCHMIDT, PAUL BITTORF, and DEE NASH

B. Consideration of Minutes

2017 MIN-056 Specialized Transportation Commission Minutes April 20, 2017

Attachments: STC Minutes 04202017 Final

A motion was made by VELDRAN, seconded by RITT, that these Minutes be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 5 - VELDRAN, O'LOUGHLIN, DUROCHER, DOWNING and RITT

Absent: 4 - HARDESTY, SCHMIDT, BITTORF and NASH

C. Action Items

None

D. Presentations

1. Just Fix it – Turnout for Transportation Capitol Edition

Betzig and Zander attended the Just Fix It event at the State Capitol May 10, 2017. Groups of 8 to 10 visited Legislators explaining the need to improve highways and support transportation programs for the elderly and persons with disabilities.

2. NESCO, Jim Krueger, Executive Director

Krueger gave a brief overview of the North/Eastside Senior Coalition. The center served 12,804 meals in 2016. A monthly newsletter indicates numerous social activities available to the seniors. The Dane County transportation program, Group Access Service, provides rides to the meal site and for grocery/general shopping. Tour offered.

- 3. NESCO Tour
- E. Reports to Committee

None

- 1. The September 28, 2017 Specialized Transportation Commission Meeting will be held at Access to Independence, Inc., 3810 Milwaukee St., Madison
- F. Future Meeting Items and Dates

A motion was made by DOWNING, seconded by Ritt that Chair O'Loughlin coordinates agenda items with Betzig to determine meeting confirmations and cancellations.

The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 5 - VELDRAN, O'LOUGHLIN, DUROCHER, DOWNING and RITT

Absent: 4 - HARDESTY, SCHMIDT, BITTORF and NASH

- 1. June 15, 2017 at the CCB in Room 321 starting at 5:00 pm
- G. Public Comment on Items not on the Agenda
- H. Such Other Business as Allowed by Law
- I. Adjourn

Meeting adjounred at 5:35 p.m.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Peter Zander