## 2018 RES-041

## RECOGNIZING MADISON WEST HIGH SCHOOL ROCKETRY CLUB ON THEIR ALTITUDE AWARD IN THE NASA STUDENT LAUNCH EVENT 2018

WHEREAS the Madison West High School Rocketry Club has won the Altitude Award in the NASA Student Launch 2018 event by flying their rocket closest to the target of 1 mile (5,280ft) above ground level.

WHEREAS the team's official altitude was 5,271ft, which brought them closest to the target out of all 54 teams representing 23 states participating in the 2018 contest.

WHEREAS the team's performance was the third best in the 18-year history of the NASA Student Launch event, including the scores of college teams, and it also won the Best Looking Rocket Award for their Flying Lemur rocket.

WHEREAS in order to qualify for the NASA Student Launch event, a high school team must in the preceding year place among the top 25 places of the Team America Rocketry Challenge Contest, a nationwide contest entered by 800 teams annually. Additionally, the team has to successfully propose a sounding rocket project that is evaluated by a review board of NASA engineers.

WHEREAS after being admitted to the NASA Student Launch event, the team must pass four design reviews in front of a NASA review board before being granted the permission to launch their rocket at the NASA Student Launch event near Huntsville, AL, the birthplace of the US Space Program.

WHEREAS this successful project was funded through the team's fundraising efforts raking leaves during fall season, as well as through donations from families and the Madison community.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Dane County Board of Supervisors hereby recognizes the achievement of the Madison West High School Rocketry Club team members Sultani Atalla, Ella Blouin, Ryley Busch, Matilda Carne, Hyun-seok Chang, Michael Heintz, Benton Likos, Simone Vorperian and Kari Weiss; The program director Ms. Christine L. Hager, a Madison West High School biology teacher; and the program mentor and leader Dr. Pavel Pinkas.

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be presented to the members of the team, Ms. Christine Hager, and Dr. Pavel Pinkas in recognition of their dedication and their outstanding accomplishment.