2019 RES-488 RECOGNIZING FEBRUARY 2020 AS BLACK HISTORY MONTH

WHEREAS Black History Month provides a deliberate opportunity to reflect on the common humanity underlying all people and to raise awareness and foster respect for the heritage and contributions of people of African descent; and

WHEREAS African Americans have been living and working in Wisconsin since the 18th century, and records of their baptisms, marriages, and burials indicate that they were woven into the fabric of early life in the state; and

WHEREAS the United States has recognized black history annually since February 12, 1926, first as "Negro History Week" and later as "Black History Month." by noted Harvard scholar and historian Dr. Carter G. Woodson. celebrating the ethnic and racial diversity that enriches and strengthens our nation; and

WHEREAS both enslaved and free people of African descent have participated in every aspect of America's effort to secure, protect, and advance the cause of freedom and civil rights and have stories that are an inspiration to all citizens, that reflect the triumph of the human spirit and offer the hopes of everyday people to rise above both prejudice and circumstance and to build lives of dignity; and

WHEREAS people of African descent or African Americans have made measurable differences in their respective industries, in Dane County, Wisconsin, and the country including, but not limited to: Milele Chikasa Anana, Dr. Reuben Anthony, Revered Joseph Baring, Lisa Peyton Caire, James "Jim" Caldwell, Dawn Crim, Clifton Lareece Gaines, Dr. Alex Gee, Dr. Richard Harris, Judge Paul Higginbotham, Linda Hoskins, Frances Huntley-Cooper, Gregg Jones, Gloria Ladson-Billings, Vanessa McDowell, District Attorney Ismael Ozanne, Vel Phillips, Dr. Floyd Rose, and Carolyn Standford Taylor, Lucien H. Palmer, Le Roy J. Simmons, Geroge Edwin Taylor, Dr. Daniel Hale Williams, Violette Neatly Anderson, the Oshkosh 94, Eric Von, Arthur Jones, Reggie Jackson, Milele Coggs, Gerard Randall, James Causey, Curtiss Harris, Satchel Paige, Condoleezza Rice, Reuben Harpole Jr., Mark Wade Sr., Chandra Cooper, Kevin Newell, Rev. Greg Lewis, Marques Johnson, Lt. Governor Mandela Barnes, Phil Cockroft, Gianna Bryant, and Kobe Bryant, Detria Hassel, Sadie Pearson, Fannie Hicklin, Mother Jacqueline Wright, Dr. Virginia Henderson, US Army Major General Marcia Anderson, Dr. Jack E. Daniels, Michael Johnson, Henry Sanders, Dr. Marcus Allen, Bishop Godfrey Stubbs, and Representative Shelia Stubbs; and

WHEREAS while acknowledging the work of these leaders, it is equally critical to appreciate, both past and present, the long list of contributions of our fellow residents. Black History Month gives Wisconsinites an occasion to recognize the significant influence people of African heritage have made, and continue to make, in the areas of medicine, art, politics, human rights, education, sports, and economic development.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Dane County Board of Supervisors recognizes February 2020 а S

as Black History Month and extends appreciation to the state of Wisconsin, the country, and their fellow residents.	he above-name persons for their contributions to Dane County, the ents.
	Analiese Eicher, Chair Dane County Board of Supervisors
Signed and sealed before me this day of, 2020.	
Scott McDonell	

Dane County Clerk