

Dane County

Minutes - Final Unless Amended by Committee

County Board

Consider:

Who benefits? Who is burdened?
Who does not have a voice at the table?
How can policymakers mitigate unintended consequences?

Tuesday, April 21, 2020

7:00 PM

Remote Meeting: Call 1-866-899-4679; Access Code: 379-091-781 **Organizational Meeting**

Remote Meeting: Call 1-866-899-4679; Access Code: 379-091-781 **Organizational Meeting**

The April 21st County Board Organizational meeting is being held remotely. The public can access the meeting by calling the number below. Once prompted, enter in the access code and you will be connected to the meeting.

NOTE: You will be placed on hold until the host joins.

United States (Toll Free): 1-866-899-4679

Access Code: 379-091-781

The meeting will be livestreamed and can be viewed here: https://media.cityofmadison.com/Mediasite/Play/0b4a9114ae684199bfa06c5c2c3f6c8b1d

If you would like to register to speak, please fill out a registration form by clicking on the following link:

https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/XMNVRTS

Registrations will be accepted until 30 minutes prior to the beginning of the meeting. Staff will then call you into the meeting when the item is before the committee.

A. ROLL CALL

Present: 37 - AUDET, BAYRD, BOLLIG, CHAWLA, CHENOWETH, DeGARMO, DOWNING, DOYLE, EICHER, ERICKSON, KIEFER, KILMER, KRAUSE, LEVIN, McCARVILLE, MILES, PETERS, RATCLIFF, RIPP, RITT, RUSK, SCHAUER, SCHWELLENBACH, STUBBS, VELDRAN, WEGLEITNER, HAASL, JOERS, ANDRAE, GRAY, ADKINS, PETERSON, SMITH, HATCHER, DOOLAN, BARE and MCGINNITY

- 1. Prayer/Inspirational Message Supervisor DeGarmo (Supervisor Doolan Next)
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance Supervisor DeGarmo

B. SPECIAL MATTERS AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

- 1. Administering the Oath of Office Justice Valerie Bailey-Rihn
- 2. Organization of the 2020-2022 Dane County Board of Supervisors
- 2a. Election of Board Chair 2 years

EICHER steps down as Chair as she is a candidate for Board Chair. DOYLE presides. BOLLIG nominates EICHER for Chair. There are no other nominations. EICHER is elected Board Chair unanimously without objection.

2b. Election of First Vice-Chair - 2 years

MCCARVILLE nominates ERICKSON for First Vice-Chair. There are no other nominations. ERICKSON is elected First Vice-Chair unanimously without objection.

2c. Election of Second Vice-Chair - 2 years

RUSK nominates AUDET for Second Vice-Chair. There are no other nominations. AUDET is elected Second Vice-Chair unanimously without objection.

2d. Election of Sergeants-At-Arms - 2 years

BARYD nominates MCCARVILLE for Sergeants-At-Arms . STUBBS nominates GRAY for Sergeants-At-Arms. There are no other nominations. MCCARVILLE and GRAY are both elected Sergeants-At-Arms unanimously without objection.

2020 OA-001 AMENDING CHAPTER 7 OF THE DANE COUNTY CODE OF ORDINANCES, AMENDING BOARD RULES

Sponsors: EICHER

Attachments: 2020 OA-001

Wegleitner Ch 7 proposal Open and Inclusive County Government

Initiative

PROPOSED DOWNING AMENDMENT TO 2020 OA 001

PROPOSED MILES AMENDMENT TO 2020-OA-001 (2)

PROPOSED WEGLEITNER AMENDMENT TO 2020-OA-001-

-VERSION 2

SUPERVISOR VELDRAN COMMENTS TO 2020-OA-001

MODIFICATION TO CLARIFY COMMITTEE REVIEW OF THE

BUDGET--BOARD RULES SUB. 1 to 2020 OA-001

2020 OA-001 Floor Amendment to SUB 1 Proposed Wegleitner 1

2020 OA-001 Floor Amendment to SUB 1 Proposed Wegleitner 2

A motion was made by WEGLEITNER, seconded by CHAWLA, that the Ordinance be amended to add to Section 2 "public testimony shall be taken to ensure the public is allowed to comment on the budget recommendation of the Personnel & Finance Committee and any budget amendments before the county board". The motion failed by the following vote:

Aves: 4 - CHAWLA, KILMER, RITT and WEGLEITNER

Noes: 32 - AUDET, BAYRD, BOLLIG, CHENOWETH, DeGARMO, DOWNING, DOYLE, EICHER, ERICKSON, KIEFER, KRAUSE, LEVIN, McCARVILLE, MILES, PETERS, RATCLIFF, RIPP, RUSK, SCHAUER, SCHWELLENBACH, STUBBS, HAASL, JOERS, ANDRAE, GRAY, ADKINS, PETERSON, SMITH,

HATCHER, DOOLAN, BARE and MCGINNITY

Absent: 1 - VELDRAN

A motion was made by WEGLEITNER, seconded by CHAWLA, that the Ordinance be amended to add to Section 2

"The agenda for each board meeting shall contain an item titled public comment at which point on the agenda any member of the public shall be allowed to speak for up to two minutes on any issue which is not on the agenda or, with the consent of the board, any issue over which the board has jurisdiction. Persons wishing to speak shall first file with the board or its staff a form complying with s. 8.10. Copies of the form shall be made available at the meeting." The motion failed by the following vote:

Ayes: 9 - CHAWLA, CHENOWETH, DOWNING, KILMER, MILES, RITT, WEGLEITNER, ANDRAE and DOOLAN

Minutes - Final Unless Amended by Committee

Noes: 27 - AUDET, BAYRD, BOLLIG, DeGARMO, DOYLE, EICHER, ERICKSON,

KIEFER, KRAUSE, LEVIN, McCARVILLE, PETERS, RATCLIFF, RIPP, RUSK, SCHAUER, SCHWELLENBACH, STUBBS, HAASL, JOERS, GRAY, ADKINS,

PETERSON, SMITH, HATCHER, BARE and MCGINNITY

Absent: 1 - VELDRAN

A motion was made that the Ordinance be adopted Sub. 1. The motion carried by a voice vote.

2f. Motion Designating Official Newspaper for the 2020-2022 Board Years

A motion was made by ERICKSON, second by AUDET, to designate the Wisconsin State Journal as the official newspaper for the 2020-2022 Board years. The motion carried on a voice vote.

C. SUCH OTHER BUSINESS AS THE COUNTY BOARD IS AUTHORIZED TO CONDUCT BY LAW

D. ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by LEVIN, seconded by JOERS, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried unanimously at 9:04 pm.