1	2020 RES-398	
2		
3	RESOLTUION HONORING THE	
4		2020 INDIVIDUAL SAFETY AWARD RECIPIENT
5 6 7 8 9	zoo) ar service	WHEREAS, Dane County management and staff provide services from A to Z (airport to nd the safety and well-being of Dane County employees is essential to delivering these s;
10 11 12	workpla	WHEREAS, each Dane County employee has close ties to their family and friends so ace injuries and illnesses affect not just staff, but the broader community as well;
13 14 15	probabi	WHEREAS, employee involvement in safety programs can significantly reduce the ility of on-the-job injuries and illnesses;
16 17 18		WHEREAS, Dane County's Safety and Working Conditions Study Committee received number of nominations across 14 Departments to receive Dane County's 2020 Safety Award, nary of which follows:
19 20 21 22 23 24	1.	Badger Prairie - Covid Staff, Director of Nursing Laura Klitzke, Nurse Debbie Brindley, and CNA Willma Joshua were nominated for going above and beyond their call to duty, for promoting a positive safety culture, and for preventing the spread of Covid-19 among residents and employees;
25 26 27 28	2.	Public Health - Jordan-Lindsay Morris and Susan Percy were nominated for quickly pivoting from their everyday work to responding to the COVID-19 pandemic and protecting the safety of PHMDC staff;
29 30 31 32 33 34	3.	Human Services - the Initial Assessment Social Workers who work with child abuse and neglect, Liza Ingrilli who is a Supervisor at the Job Center, and Nicole Stockburger who is the supervisor for the Comprehensive Community Services (CCS) program were nominated for creating and implementing protocols to provide essential services while keeping staff and community members safe;
35 36 37 38 39	4.	Medical Examiner's Office – Director of Operations Barry Irmen was nominated for his "Herculean" efforts to secure N-95 and KN-95 masks, face shields, gloves, hand sanitizer, and wipes for employees across Dane County departments long before suppliers engaged in restrictions and price gauging;
40 41 42 43 44	5.	Dane County Clerk – Patti Anderson was nominated for her work during the 9 day Recount of the 2020 presidential election; there were 22 full time employees, over 200 LTE's, and approximately 400 observers who rotated in and out during recount, yet, as far as we know, no one contracted the virus.
45 46 47 48 49	6.	Register of Deeds – Kristi Chlebowski was nominated by several of her staff because, unlike most of the City/County Building, ROD staff could not work from home and had to be fully staffed the entire year; Kristi flexed staff schedules and modified the office's open concept to protect employees (and their families) from exposure to COVID;
50 51 52 53	7.	Waste & Renewables - Roxanne Wienkes was nominated for engraining safety, equity and inclusion, and sustainability into Department Operations through public engagement, staff education, and greater team cohesion;

- District Attorney Amy Brown was nominated for protecting staff, victims and witnesses by coordinating a work from home program and reconfiguring the workspace and putting together "return to work" bags (disposable gloves, Kleenex, a face mask, spray hand sanitizer) for staff;
 - 9. **Sheriff's Office** Bailiffs Heidi Hill and Lucy Larson, all Bailiffs as a group, and Security Support Specialist Dustin Sheridan were nominated for their keeping victims, witnesses, defendants, attorneys and judges as safe as possible and still participate in court hearings.
 - 10. **Juvenile Reception Center** the management team, John Bauman, Ed Pearson, Suzanne Stute and Albert Watson, was nominated for their efforts to keep staff, juveniles and families were safe from the virus.
 - 11. **Public Safety Communications (911)** Rebecca Overland, Michelle Nightoak, and Elyssa Hatzinger were nominated for acting quickly and heroically to the fire in the City/County Building on June 24, 2020;
 - Emergency Management Rick Lange and Courtney Wassertheurer were nominated for their work getting PPE to Dane County departments, other municipalities' agencies, healthcare providers and schools in Dane County.
 - 13. Facilities Management Justin Fay (who is a past award recipient and nominated three times this year) and Patrick Abresch were nominated because they chose to take on a "mission impossible" keeping the Job Center and Badger Prairie respectively clean and free from Covid transmission;
 - **14. Henry Vilas Zoo** Julie Elsinger (who received five nominations) and Lauren Salzmann were nominated for going above and beyond to ensure a safe working environment for the animals in their care, their co-workers and zoo volunteers.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the County Board recognize Badger Prairie Covid
Care Team, which consists of Laura Klitzke, Pam Hady, Debbie Brindley, Gabi Holtzman, Tonya
Duerst, Tsering Phuntsock, Salomey Cheapoo, Laurie Pierstorff, Jennifer Schroeder, Jake Oswald,
Tina Andrews, as the recipient of the 2020 Safety Award for preventing transmission of the virus at
Badger Prairie.

Analiese Eicher, Chair Dane County Board of Supervisor

Signed and sealed before me this _____ day of _____, 2021.

Scott McDonell, Dane County Clerk