

# **Dane County**

# Minutes - Final Unless Amended by Committee

# **Public Protection & Judiciary Committee**

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

5:00 PM

\*\*BUDGET\*\*

Room 357 of the City-County Building 210 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.

\*\*BUDGET\*\*

Room 357 of the City-County Building 210 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.

#### A. Call To Order

Meeting called to order at 5 p.m.

YGP member absent: Luis Abreu-Socorro and Leticia Rodriguez

Others present: M. MacKenzie

Present: 5 - Chair PAUL RUSK, CAROUSEL BAYRD, DOROTHY KRAUSE, MAUREEN

McCARVILLE and MICHAEL WILLETT

#### **B.** Consideration of Minutes

1. 2017 PP&J MINUTES OF OCTOBER 10, 2017

MIN-320

<u>Attachments:</u> 2017 MIN-320 PP&J 10-10-17

A motion was made by BAYRD, seconded by McCARVILLE, that the Minutes be

approved. The motion carried by the following vote: 3-0

Ayes: 4 - RUSK, BAYRD, Vice Chair McCARVILLE and WILLETT

Absent: 1 - KRAUSE

#### C. Referrals (Resolutions & Ordinance Amendments)

2. 2017 AUTHORIZING A CONTRACT BETWEEN DANE COUNTY AND

FOR THE PROVISION OF INMATE HEALTH AND

MENTAL HEALTH CARE SERVICES

**Sponsors:** RUSK, BAYRD and KRAUSE

Attachments: 2017 RES-263

A motion was made by BAYRD, seconded by McCARVILLE, that this Resolution be

recommended for approval. The motion carried by the following vote: 3-1

(Willett); No YGP members present.

Ayes: 3 - RUSK, BAYRD and Vice Chair McCARVILLE

Noes: 1 - WILLETT

Absent: 1 - KRAUSE

(Krause arrives)

## D. Items Requiring Committee Action

Public members that registered to speak in support of the Jail were: Eric Howland, Lisa Munro, and Lynne Butorac.

Public members that registered to speak in opposition of the Jail were: Karen Reece, and Nino Rodriguez.

Public members that registered to speak in support of 2018 Budget was Tom Gilbert, Moses

Public member that registered to speak in support of \_\_\_\_\_ was Jeanie Velschay.

## E. Future Meeting Items and Dates

None

## F. Public Comment on Items not on the Agenda

None

## G. Such Other Business as Allowed by Law

None

## H. Adjourn

A motion was made by KRAUSE, seconded by McCARVILLE, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote: 4-0

Ayes: 5 - RUSK, BAYRD, KRAUSE, Vice Chair McCARVILLE and WILLETT

Respectfully submitted by Stephanie Stavn