

Dane County

Minutes - Final Unless Amended by Committee

Public Protection & Judiciary Committee

Consider:

Who benefits? Who is burdened? Who does not have a voice at the table? How can policymakers mitigate unintended consequences?

Tuesday, June 9, 2020

5:15 PM

Remote Meeting: Call 1 866 899 4679

Access Code: 939-953-917

Remote Meeting: Call 1 866 899 4679; Access Code: 939-953-917

A. Call To Order

Meeting called to order at 5:15 p.m.

Others present: Supervisor Audet, Supervisor Chawla, M. DeForest, Supervisor Hatcher, J. Hook, D. Lowndes, Supervisor McGinnity, D. Mahoney, C. Nygaard, Supervisor Ritt, C. Pabellon and S. Stavn.

Present: 7 - Vice Chair CAROUSEL BAYRD, DOROTHY KRAUSE, MAUREEN McCARVILLE, JULIE SCHWELLENBACH, RICHELLE ANDRAE, ALEX JOERS and TERAN

B. Consideration of Minutes

PP&J MINUTES OF MAY 26, 2020 2020 MIN-040

<u>Attachments:</u> 2020 MIN-040 05-26-2020

PP&J Registration Slips 05-26-2020

A motion was made by KRAUSE, seconded by PETERSON, that the Minutes be approved. The motion carried by the following vote: 6-0

Ayes: 6 - Vice Chair BAYRD, Supervisor KRAUSE, Chair McCARVILLE, Supervisor

ANDRAE, Supervisor JOERS and PETERSON

Abstain: 1 - Supervisor SCHWELLENBACH

C. Referrals (Resolutions & Ordinance Amendments)

2020 AUTHORIZING GRANT FUNDING FOR THE CORONAVIRUS EMERGENCY

RES-087 RESPONSE PROGRAM

Sponsors: McCARVILLE, CHAWLA, GRAY, HATCHER, RITT and RUSK

Attachments: 2020 RES-087

2020 RES-087 Fiscal Note

2020 RES-087 CONTRACT #14035

A motion was made by SCHWELLENBACH, seconded by JOERS, that the Resolution Requiring 2/3rds Vote be recommended for approval. The motion

carried by the following vote: 7-0

Ayes: 7 - Vice Chair BAYRD, Supervisor KRAUSE, Chair McCARVILLE, Supervisor

SCHWELLENBACH, Supervisor ANDRAE, Supervisor JOERS and PETERSON

D. Claims

2020 CL-009 CLAIM OF AARON BOHN

Attachments: 2020 CL-009 Bohn

A motion was made by SCHWELLENBACH, seconded by KRAUSE, that the Claim be recommended for denial. The motion carried by the following vote: 7-0

Ayes: 7 - Vice Chair BAYRD, Supervisor KRAUSE, Chair McCARVILLE, Supervisor SCHWELLENBACH, Supervisor ANDRAE, Supervisor JOERS and PETERSON

2. 2020 CL-010 CLAIM OF CHARLENE AND DAN MEIER

Attachments: 2020 CL-010 Meier

A motion was made by SCHWELLENBACH, seconded by KRAUSE, that the Claim be recommended for denial. The motion carried by the following vote: 7-0

Ayes: 7 - Vice Chair BAYRD, Supervisor KRAUSE, Chair McCARVILLE, Supervisor SCHWELLENBACH, Supervisor ANDRAE, Supervisor JOERS and PETERSON

3. 2020 CL-011 CLAIM OF THE ESTATE OF KAYLA RAINES

Attachments: 2020 CL-011 Raines

A motion was made by SCHWELLENBACH, seconded by KRAUSE, that the Claim be recommended for denial. The motion carried by the following vote: 7-0

Ayes: 7 - Vice Chair BAYRD, Supervisor KRAUSE, Chair McCARVILLE, Supervisor SCHWELLENBACH, Supervisor ANDRAE, Supervisor JOERS and PETERSON

E. Presentations

Sawyer Johnson registered to speak about the Sheriff's presentation, and provided comment.

Eric Howland registered to speak about the Sheriff's presentation, and provided comment.

Jeanie Verschay registered to speak about the Sheriff's presentation, and provided comment.

Annika Lee registered to speak about the Sheriff's presentation, and provided comment.

Sheriff Mahoney and Captain Nygard presented on the impact of COVID-19 in the Dane County Jail, and the measures put into place to address it.

Supervisors Bayrd, Joers, Andrae, Hatcher, Chwala, McCarville and Peterson questioned the Sheriff about the procedures that are in place at the Dane County Jail.

F. Future Meeting Items and Dates

Supervisor McCarville reminded the committee that the next meeting is June 23, 2020. Judiciary representatives will be invited to present on signature bonds.

G. Public Comment on Items not on the Agenda

None

H. Such Other Business as Allowed by Law

None

I. Adjourn

The committee adjourned at 6:58 p.m.

A motion was made by SCHWELLENBACH, seconded by PETERSON, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote: 7-0

Ayes: 7 - Vice Chair BAYRD, Supervisor KRAUSE, Chair McCARVILLE, Supervisor SCHWELLENBACH, Supervisor ANDRAE, Supervisor JOERS and PETERSON

Respectfully submitted by Stephanie A. Stavn