

# **Dane County**

# Minutes - Final Unless Amended by Committee

# **County Board**

Consider:

Who benefits? Who is burdened? Who does not have a voice at the table? How can policymakers mitigate unintended consequences?

This meeting is being conducted on land now known and recognized as Dane County, Wisconsin. We acknowledge that this land is at the same time the ancestral, traditional, & contemporary land of the Ho-Chunk, Sauk & Kickapoo nations.

 Tuesday, April 16, 2024
 7:00 PM\*\*ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING\*\* Hybrid Meeting: Attend in person at the City County Building in Room 201; attend virtually via Zoom.

### See below for additional instructions on how to attend the meeting.

## A. ROLL CALL

- Present: 36 ANDRAE, BLAZEWICZ, BOETCHER, BOLLIG, BROWER, CHAWLA, COLLINS, DOOLAN, DOWNING, DOYLE, EICHER, ENGELBERGER, ERICKSON, FRIES, GLAZER, GRAY, HUELSEMANN, JACKSON, KEMP, KIGEYA, KRONING, MARREN, McCARVILLE, MILES, PETERS, PETERSON, POSTLER, RITT, ROSE, RYLANDER, SMITH, UDELL, VELDRAN, WEGLEITNER, WEIGAND and YANG
- 1. Inspirational Message Supervisor Kigeya
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance Supervisor Kigeya

# **B. SPECIAL MATTERS AND ANNOUNCEMENTS**

- 1. Administering the Oath of Office Justice Frank Remington
- 2 Organization of the 2024-2026 Dane County Board of Supervisors

MILES asks the body if there is any objection to ERICKSON assuming the Chair as the longest serving Supervisor as MILES is running for County Board Chair. There is no objection and ERICKSON assumes the Chair.

2a. Election of Board Chair - 2 years

A motion was made by DOOLAN to nominate MILES for County Board Chair. A motion was made by EICHER to nominate ROSE for County Board Chair. A motion was made by POSLER to nominate KIGEYA for County Board Chair. Nominations were then closed and voting commenced. MILES was elected County Board Chair on a vote of 25-9-2.

#### 2b. Election of First Vice-Chair - 2 years

ENGELBERGER nominates SMITH for First Vice Chair. There are no other nominations. VELDRAN moves, second by POSLER to caste a unanimous ballot for SMITH. The vote passed on a voice vote.

2c. Election of Second Vice-Chair - 2 year

GLAZER nominates KEMP for Second Vice Chair. There are no other nominations. VELDRAN moves, second by CHAWLA to caste a unanimous ballot for KEMP. The vote passed on a voice vote.

2d. Election of Sergeants-At-Arms - 2 years

CHAWLA nominates JACKSON for Sergeants-At-Arms. YANG nominates HUESELMANN for Sergeants-At-Arms. There are no other nominations. PETERS moves, second by DOOLAN to caste a unanimous ballot for JACKSON and HUESELMANN. The vote passed on a voice vote.

A motion is then made by GRAY, second by GLAZER to destroy (delete) the ballots for the previous elections. The vote passed on a voice vote.

# **2e.** <u>2024 OA-001</u> AMENDING CHAPTER 7 OF THE DANE COUNTY CODE OF ORDINANCES, REVISING THE COUNTY BOARD RULES

## <u>Sponsors:</u> MILES

#### Attachments: 2024 OA-001

Amendment to 2024 OA-001 (PROPOSED-MILES)

Amendment to 2024 OA-001 (PROPOSED-HUELSEMANN)

A motion was made by WEIGAND, second by VELDRAN that the Ordinance be amended by the MILES amendment.

A motion was then made by WEGLEITNER, second by CHAWLA to postpone the MILES amendment to the second County Board meeting in June. That motion carried by a voice vote.

A motion was made by HUELSEMANN, seconded by PETERS, that the Ordinance be amended by the Huelsemann amendment. The motion carried by a voice vote.

A motion was made by WEGLEITNER, seconded by BROWER, that the Ordinance be amended to strike on line 100 "approval of payment". The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 21 - ANDRAE, BOETCHER, BROWER, CHAWLA, DOWNING, DOYLE, EICHER, ERICKSON, FRIES, HUELSEMANN, JACKSON, KEMP, KIGEYA, MARREN, PETERS, RITT, ROSE, RYLANDER, SMITH, UDELL and WEGLEITNER Noes: 15 - BLAZEWICZ, BOLLIG, COLLINS, DOOLAN, ENGELBERGER, GLAZER, GRAY, KRONING, McCARVILLE, MILES, PETERSON, POSTLER, VELDRAN, WEIGAND and YANG

A motion was made by CHAWLA seconded by GRAY, that the Ordinance be amended to strike lines 151-153 of sectoin 7.02(9).

A motion was then made by ANDRAE, seconded by SMITH, that the Ordinance be amended to instead strike from 7.02(9)c "motion by a member of a committee or the Board and approval by that respective body." and replace with "request by a member of the Board.". The motion carried by the following vote:

- Ayes: 25 ANDRAE, BLAZEWICZ, BOETCHER, BROWER, CHAWLA, COLLINS, DOOLAN, DOWNING, DOYLE, EICHER, ERICKSON, FRIES, GLAZER, GRAY, HUELSEMANN, JACKSON, KEMP, KIGEYA, KRONING, MARREN, PETERS, RYLANDER, SMITH, UDELL and WEGLEITNER
- Noes: 9 BOLLIG, ENGELBERGER, McCARVILLE, MILES, PETERSON, POSTLER, VELDRAN, WEIGAND and YANG
- Absent: 2 RITT and ROSE

A motion was made that the Ordinance be adopted as amended. The motion carried by a voice vote.

2f. Motion Designating Official Newspaper for the 2024-2026 Board Years

A motion was made by VELDRAN, seconded by POSTLER, that the Wisconsin State Journal be designated at the official newspaper for the 2024-2026 Board Years. The motion carried unanimously. WEIGAND votes no.

## C. SUCH OTHER BUSINESS AS THE COUNTY BOARD IS AUTHORIZED TO CONDUCT BY LAW

#### D. ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by HUELSEMANN, seconded by YANG, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried unanimously at 9:09 pm.