2024 RES-367

CONGRATULATING THE 2025 MCFARLAND HIGH SCHOOL BOYS SWIM TEAM ON THEIR SECOND STRAIGHT WIAA DIVISION II STATE CHAMPIONSHIP

WHEREAS, the McFarland High School Boys Swim Team of Nick Furst, Orry Landolt, Preston Nygaard, Hans Rudie, Luke Rudie, Blake TeBeest, Cale TeBeest, and Shane TeBeest, completed its 2024-2025 season as the WIAA Division II state champions of the 101st State Boys Swimming and Diving Championships for the second consecutive year; and

WHEREAS, the Spartans brought home their eighth title in the McFarland program's history with 283 points, winning eight of the meet's 12 events, including five individual events and all three relays, and setting two state records; and

WHEREAS, Senior Shane TeBeest won both the 50 freestyle with a time of 20.52 and the 100 freestyle with a time of 45.16, both of which are the second-fastest times in Division II State Championship history; and

WHEREAS, Sophomore Blake TeBeest was the champion in the 200 individual medley for the second year in a row, finishing in a time of 1:50.55, and also won the 100 backstroke for the second consecutive season, with a time of 48.11, the second-fastest time recorded in Division II history at the State Meet; and

WHEREAS, Sophomore Cale TeBeest broke the Division II record in the 100 butterfly with his finish of 48.44 to win the title for the second straight year; and

WHEREAS, McFarland won the 200 medley relay for the third consecutive season with the TeBeest trio joining Senior Preston Nygaard to blow the Division II record out of the water in 1:29.88; and

WHEREAS, Preston Nygaard, Cale TeBeest, Orry Landolt, and Luke Rudie earned McFarland the title in the 200 freestyle relay for the second year in a row, finishing in 1:26.56; and

WHEREAS, the Spartans' 400 relay also took first place for the third straight year in an effort by Luke Rudie and the TeBeest brothers, posting a time of 3:04.66, the second-fastest in Division II history behind McFarland's record-setting performance in the previous year; and

WHEREAS, 5 of the 8 team members, Blake TeBeest, Preston Nygaard, Cale TeBeest, Shane TeBeest, and Luke Rudie, achieved All-American status for their events; and

WHEREAS, through its dedication, perseverance, and hard work, the team has demonstrated the highest standards of athletic excellence and sportsmanship and exhibited extraordinary skill, resilience, grace, and determination in bringing McFarland an impressive second state title in a row.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Dane County Board of Supervisors recognizes the McFarland Boys Swim Team members, their parents, and all supporters whose guidance and encouragement played a vital role in the team's success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Dane County Board of Supervisors congratulates the McFarland Boys Swim Team's Head Coach, Justin Harrington, and assistant coaches Brandon O'Donnell and Caitlyn Hiveley, and team captains Nathan Acton and Ben Miles for their exceptional performance, triumphant victory, successful season, and clinching another Division II State Championship.

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that copies of this resolution shall be presented to the coaches and members of the Spartans Boys Swim Team.

Patrick Miles, Chair Dane County Board of Supervisors

Signed and sealed before me this _____ day of _____, 2025.

Scott McDonell, Dane County Clerk