

Dane County

Minutes - Final Unless Amended by Committee

Condemnation Commission

Consider:

Who benefits? Who is burdened? Who does not have a voice at the table? How can policymakers mitigate unintended consequences?

Thursday, June 23, 2022

10:00 AM

City-County Building, Room 321

City-County Building, Room 321

A. Call To Order

Prior to today's meeting, James Mogden and Susan Goldstein gave notice they are ending their service as Dane County Commissioners.

The meeting was called to order by Chair Nelson at 10:00 a.m.

PRESENT: MUSA JALLOW AND MEGHAN ROED

Present 7 - MICHAEL NELSON, MARY STURDEVANT, RUTH SCHULTZ, DAVE PHILLIPS, ALLEN ARNTSEN, JAMIE SUTFIN, and JOEL BATHA

1. Introduction of New Member(s)

The two new commissioners are Musa Jallow and Attorney Meghan Roed. Musa Jallow is a Real Estate Agent with Restaino & Associates. Musa is from Gambia, West Africa and settled in Madison in 2009. Attorney Meghan Roed is with Reinhart's Real Estate Practice where she focuses on affordable housing and general commercial real estate. Prior to joining Reinhart, Meghan was a senior staff attorney for Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development (WHEDA).

Swearing-in of new and continuing commissioners

Meghan Roed was appointed for a three-year term and Musa was appointed to fill the remainder of Sue Goldstein's term, which ends in 2023.

In addition, Allen Arntsen and Mary K. Sturdevant were reappointed for three-year terms. All were sworn in.

B. Consideration of Minutes

Business from the previous annual meeting: Last annual meeting was on August 16, 2021, at which time Mike Nelson was reelected chairman, Mary K. Sturdevant was reelected secretary and Joel Batha and Jaimie Sutfin were sworn in as new members. 1. <u>2022</u> MIN-058 MINUTES FROM THE AUGUST 16, 2021 CONDEMNATION COMMISSION MEETING

Attachments: 2022 MIN-058

A motion was made by NELSON, seconded by ARNTSEN, that the Minutes be approved. The motion carried by a voice vote.

C. Action Items

1. Nominations and election for Chair

Mike Nelson stated he is stepping down as Chairman and opened the floor for nominations.

A motion was made to nominate Allen Arntsen to be Chair of the Condemnation Commission. There were no more nominations. The motion carried unanimously.

2. Nominations and election for Secretary

A motion was made to nominate Mary K. Sturdevant to be Secretary of the Condemnation Commission. There were no more nominations. The motion carried unanimously.

D. Presentations

None

E. Reports to Committee

Review of cases heard since last meeting on August 16, 2021

F. Future Meeting Items and Dates

None

G. Public Comment on Items not on the Agenda

None

H. Such Other Business as Allowed by Law

None

I. Adjourn

A motion was made by ARNTSEN, seconded by PHILLIPS, that the Meeting be adjourned. The motion carried unanimously.

Meeting adjourned at 11:15.

Minutes submitted by Mary K. Sturdevant, pending commission approval