2023 RES-364 CONGRATULATING THE 2023 MCFARLAND HIGH SCHOOL BOYS SWIM TEAM ON THEIR WIAA DIVISION II STATE CHAMPIONSHIP

WHEREAS, the McFarland High School Boys Swim Team ended its 2023 season as the Division II state champions by winning seven events, four individual events, and three relay events, setting two state records, and scoring 325 points; and

WHEREAS, the Spartans brought home the program's 7th title for the first time since 2012; and

WHEREAS, Cale and Shane TeBeest made history by becoming the first set of brothers to finish first and second in an event, consecutively, earning gold and silver in the 50-yard freestyle and 100-yard butterfly; and

WHEREAS, Cale TeBeest, Shane TeBeest, Blake TeBeest, and Lyon Hall swam to a state record of 3:02.50 in the 400-yard freestyle relay, shattering the previous record of 3:07.84 set in 2009; and

WHEREAS, Cale TeBeest, Preston Nygaard, Luke Morrison, and Lyon Hall set the state record of 1:25.18 for the 200-yard freestyle relay, breaking the previous record set in 2016; and

WHEREAS, through its dedication, perseverance, and hard work, the team has demonstrated the highest standards of athletic excellence and sportsmanship, and exhibited extraordinary skill, resilience, grace, and determination; and

WHEREAS, the team's relentless pursuit of success, both in and out of the pool, has brought honor to the school and community, inspiration to those who witnessed its power of determination, and unity in achieving a common goal.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Dane County Board of Supervisors recognizes the McFarland Boys Swim Team members, their parents, and all supporters whose guidance and encouragement played a vital role in the success of the team.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Dane County Board of Supervisors congratulates the McFarland Boys Swim Team, its Head Coach, Justin Harrington, and assistant coaches for their exceptional performance, triumphant victory, successful season, and Division II state championship.

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that copies of this resolution be presented to the coaches and members of the Spartans Boys Swim Team.

Patrick Miles, Chair
Dane County Board of Supervisors

Signed and sealed before day of	
Scott McDonell,	
Dane County Clerk	