## 2022 RES-381 RESOLUTION HONORING THE 2022 INDIVIDUAL SAFETY AWARD RECIPIENT

**WHEREAS**, Dane County management and staff provide services from A to Z, airport to zoo, and the safety and well-being of Dane County employees is essential to delivering these services; and

**WHEREAS**, employee involvement in safety programs can significantly reduce the probability of on-the-job injuries and illnesses; and

**WHEREAS**, Dane County's Safety and Working Conditions Study Committee received various nominations across several departments to receive Dane County's 2022 Individual Safety Award, a summary of which follows:

- The Airport Terminal Maintenance staff in general for successfully ensuring traffic safety for the traveling public during the major roadway reconstruction project;
- Matt Gutzman of the Airport Terminal Maintenance staff for playing such a crucial part of keeping the roadway construction project safe;
- Kyle Anderson of Waste and Renewables for developing and implementing effective safety protocols, ensuring that our employees are protected, and that the County complies with all relevant safety regulations;
- Michael Corrigan and Jenna Shelley from the Sheriff's Office for identifying the need for
  equipment that would facilitate quick entry into buildings in the event of an active shooter
  and then finding a way to fill that need with halligan entry tools for patrol vehicles;
- Dave Haag, Shane Otto, and Lars Higdon of Land & Water Resources for their commitment to safety education and personal protective equipment for park staff and volunteers;
- Steve Hill, the Help Desk Manager in Information Management for providing immediate first aid to an injured worker, and then implementing changes to prevent future injuries;
- Evan SeBlonka of Human Services for his commitment to safety, including, but not limited to encouraging colleagues to practice masking and social distancing; and
- Facilities Management Janitorial staff in general and Joseph Deang, Karla Rassmasen, Clara Chin-Roth, Palkiya Yakar, Vickani Dari and Greg Sanders in particular for going above and beyond expectations to keep Dane County's buildings clean and safe for staff and visitors.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the Dane County Board of Supervisors recognize the Airport Terminal Maintenance staff in general for successfully ensuring traffic safety for the traveling public during the major roadway reconstruction project as the recipient of the 2022 Individual Safety Award.